Wormwood

Wormwood Leaves And Flowers

Daburim (Deuteronomy) 29:14-21 “And not with you alone I am making this covenant and this oath, (15) but with him who stands here with us today before YAHUAH our Aluahim, as well as with him who is not here with us today. (16) “For you know how we dwelt in the land of Matsuraim and how we passed through the nations which you passed through, (17) and you saw their abominations and their idols, wood and stone, silver and gold, which were with them, (18) lest there should be among you a man or woman or clan or tribe, whose heart turns away today from YAHUAH our Aluahim, to go and serve the mighty ones of these nations, lest there should be among you a root bearing bitterness or wormwood. (19) “And it shall be, when he hears the words of this curse, that he should bless himself in his heart, saying, ‘I have peace though I walk in the stubbornness of my heart,’ in order to add drunkenness to thirst. (20) “YAHUAH would not forgive him, but rather, the displeasure of YAHUAH and His jealousy shall burn against that man, and every curse that is written in this book shall settle on him, and YAHUAH shall blot out his name from under the heavens. (21) “And YAHUAH shall separate him for evil, out of all the tribes of Yashur’al, according to all the curses of the covenant that are written in this Book of the Turah.”

Proverbs 5:1-4 My son, listen to my wisdom; incline your ear to my understanding, (2) So as to watch over discretion, and your lips guard knowledge. (3) For the lips of a strange woman drip honey, and her mouth is smoother than oil; (4) But in the end she is bitter as wormwood, sharp as a two-edged sword.

Yurumyahu 9:12-22 Who is the wise man, that he understands this? And to whom has the mouth of YAHUAH spoken, that he declares it? Why has the land perished, has it been burned up like a wilderness, with none passing through? (13) And YAHUAH says, “Because they have forsaken My Turah which I set before them, and have not obeyed My voice, nor walked according to it, (14) but they have walked according to the stubbornness of their own heart and after the Baw’alim, which their fathers had taught them.” (15) Therefore thus said YAHUAH of hosts, the Aluahim of Yashur’al, “See, I am making this people eat wormwood, and I shall make them drink poisoned water. (16) “And I shall scatter them among the nations, whom neither they nor their fathers have known. And I shall send a sword after them until I have consumed them.” (17) Thus said YAHUAH of hosts, “Discern! And call for the mourning women, that they come. And send for the wise women, that they come. (18) “And let them hasten and take up a wailing for us, and let our eyes run with tears and our eyelids gush with water. (19) “For a voice of wailing is heard from Tsyun, ‘How we are ravaged! We are greatly ashamed, because we have forsaken the land, because we have been thrown out of our dwellings.’ ” (20) But hear the word of YAHUAH, O women, and let your ear receive the word of His mouth. And teach your daughters wailing, and each one her neighbour a lamentation. (21) For death has come through our windows, has entered our palaces, cutting off the children from the streets, and the young men from the squares. (22) Speak, “Thus declares YAHUAH, ‘The corpses of men shall fall as dung on the face of the field, like cuttings after the reaper, with none to gather them.’ ”

Yurumyahu 23:9-15 My heart within me is broken because of the prophets; all my bones shake. I am like a drunken man, and like a man overcome by wine, because of YAHUAH, and because of His set-apart words. (10) For the land is filled with adulterers; for the land mourns because of a curse. The pastures of the wilderness are dried up. And their course is evil, and their might is not right. (11) “For both prophet and priest have become defiled. Even in My house I have found their evil,” declares YAHUAH. (12) “Therefore their way is to them like slippery ways in the dark. They are driven on and they shall fall in them. For I bring evil on them, the year of their punishment,” declares YAHUAH. (13) “And I have seen folly in the prophets of Shamurun: they prophesied by Baw’al and led My people Yashur’al astray. (14) “And among the prophets of Yurushalam I have seen a horrible matter: committing adultery and walking in falsehood. And they strengthen the hands of evil ones, so that no one turns back from his evil. All of them are like Sadum to Me, and her inhabitants like Awmurah. (15) “Therefore thus said YAHUAH of hosts concerning the prophets, ‘See, I am making them eat wormwood, and shall make them drink poisoned water. For defilement has gone out into all the land from the prophets of Yurushalam.’ ”

Lamentations 3:14-20 I have been a mockery to all my people, Their mocking song all the day. (15) He has filled me with bitterness, He drenched me with wormwood. (16) And He has broken my teeth with gravel, He has covered me with ashes. (17) And You have removed my being far from peace, I have forgotten goodness. (18) And I said, “My strength and my expectancy Have perished from YAHUAH.” (19) Remember my affliction and my anguish, The wormwood and the gall. (20) Your being indeed remembers And bows down upon me.

Awmus 5:1-7 Hear this word which I take up against you, this lamentation, O house of Yashur’al: (2) The maiden of Yashur’al has fallen, not to rise again. She lies forsaken on her land, with no one to lift her up. (3) For thus said the Master YAHUAH, “The city that goes out by a thousand has a hundred left, and that which goes out by a hundred has ten left to the house of Yashur’al.” (4) For thus said YAHUAH to the house of Yashur’al, “Seek Me and live, (5) but do not seek Ba’it Al, nor enter Galagal, nor pass over to Ba’ur Shabaw. For Galagal shall certainly go into exile, and Ba’it Al become a non-entity. (6) “Seek YAHUAH and live, lest He break out like fire upon the house of Yahusaph, and shall consume it, with no one to quench it in Ba’it Al. (7) “O you who are turning right-ruling to wormwood, and have cast down righteousness to the earth!”

Awmus 6:8-14 The Master YAHUAH has sworn by Himself, YAHUAH Aluahim of hosts declares, “I am loathing the pride of Yaw’aqub, and I have hated his palaces. Therefore I shall deliver up the city and all that is in it.” (9) And it shall be, that if ten men remain in one house, they shall die. (10) And if a relative, or his undertaker, brings the remains out of the house, he shall say to one inside the house, “Is anyone with you?” and he says, “No,” then he shall say, “Hush!” For we have not remembered the Name of YAHUAH! (11) For look, YAHUAH is commanding, and He shall smite the great house with breaches, and the little house with clefts. (12) Do horses run on a rock? Does one plough it with oxen? For you have turned right-ruling into poison, and the fruit of righteousness into wormwood, (13) you who are rejoicing over a matter of naught, who say, “Have we not taken horns for ourselves by our own strength?” (14) “For look, I am raising up a nation against you, O house of Yashur’al,” declares YAHUAH Aluahim of hosts, “and they shall oppress you from the entrance of Chamat to the wadi Arabah.”

Revelation 8:10-11 And the third messenger sounded, and a great star fell from the heaven, burning like a torch, and it fell on a third of the rivers and on the fountains of water, (11) and the name of the star is called Wormwood. And a third of the waters became wormwood, and many men died from the waters, because they were made bitter.

Halal YAHUAH!

Note: The ancient Awbury (Hebrew) word לענה – law’anah and the Hellenic (Greek) word αψίνθος – apsinthos are translated into English as wormwood and means “bitterness, from an unused root supposed to mean to curse; figuratively, calamity”. Wormwood is a woody perennial scrub native to Europe, Western Asia, the Middle East and North Africa. This aromatic herb is known for its extremely bitter taste and has been used for its therapeutic qualities. Wormwood is also an ingredient in the notorious alcoholic beverage absinthe.

Wormwood – Artemisia Absinthium

About pilgrim217

Student of the Word of YAHUAH and Follower of YAHUSHUA ha'Mashyach.
This entry was posted in Wormwood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

